Tuesday, November 11, 2014

At Death's Door Tour, Excerpt & Giveaway!

At Death's Door
Freefall
Book One
Astrid V. Tallaksen     

Genre: Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance

Date of Publication: 8/1/2014

ISBN: 1500486922
ASIN: B00MU3PSES

Number of pages: 232
Word Count: 79,003  

Cover Artist: Indie-Spired Designs

Book Description:

The world is a pretty straightforward place. Even for medium Sara Stone things seem pretty simple, aside from the whole talking to spirits bit. But when the spirits get too hard to handle and Sara ends up admitted to a mental hospital, the world starts to seem a lot less straightforward. First her family disappears, including her four year old son. Then she gets the sneaking suspicion that not only are the staff at the mental hospital somehow connected, but they also have no intention of ever letting her leave the hospital.

Everything changes when Sara has her first visitor in three months. Daniel is handsome, friendly, and a complete stranger. When he promises to spring her from the hospital and swears that everything she's experienced is completely real, Sara has no choice but to believe him. But once she reaches a run-down Victorian house in the tiny Alabama town her rescuer calls home, the last thing she expects to discover is that every memory she has is a lie.

Daniel reveals a world filled with angels, demons, and an impending war humans know nothing about. Sara wants to ignore her role in the whole mess – all that matters is solving the mystery of where her son has gone. But the forces of Heaven, Hell, and the Heart have other plans for her. Can she find her child before the world comes crashing down?



Excerpt

He lay, on his back, spread eagle upon the steps of the altar. His eyes were closed and I couldn't tell if his chest was rising and falling. The aisle to where he lay was far too long, and I ran, falling down at his side and laying my head on his chest to see if he breathed. What had he said about angels and how they could die? He wasn't breathing and he didn't have a pulse and I didn't have a clue what to do or what had happened. Did CPR make a difference? Was it too late for me to do anything?


“Daniel!” Breathlessly, I called his name and shook him. “Daniel you have to wake up. Please!” I looked around for some sign that someone had come into the chapel and hurt him. It couldn't be an angel but how else would someone come in here without breaking a window or smashing through a door? I realized they could have hurt him elsewhere and just brought him here for me to find. How long had he been here, not breathing or moving? The spirits were absent and offered no answers. I brushed his cheek with a gentle kiss, like I did when Danny had a fever, to see how warm he was. Daniel didn't have the chill of death, but his skin didn't hold the warmth I was so used to. Feeling helpless to do anything, I gathered him into my arms so that I could pull him the rest of the way onto the altar and try my hardest to resuscitate him. I'd just pulled him into my lap, my tears falling unbidden and landing on his face, when he gasped, his back arching then relaxing again as his breathing returned to normal.





About the Author:

Debut author Astrid V. Tallaksen grew up in North Alabama. She was fortunate to be raised with a heart for stories of creatures and places outside of this world. Her love of reading quickly became a love of writing.

She spent several years creating content and helping writers to improve their craft on the online world of Althanas, a creative writing workshop in the guise of a roleplaying forum.

A self-avowed nerd, Astrid loves science fiction, comic books, and eighties fantasy movies in the vein of The Princess Bride and Labyrinth.

Her geekiness extends to annual volunteer work at the massive sci-fi convention known as Dragon*con every year in Atlanta, Georgia.

In the odd times that she's not immersed in geekdom or writing, Astrid loves to sing karaoke, crochet, and spend time with her family and pets.


Twitter: @astrid_writes




No comments:

Post a Comment